Seven Roland-Story baseball players named all-HOIC

The Roland-Story baseball team was well represented in the 2022 All-Heart of Iowa Conference drafts.

The Norsemen had seven players honored by conference coaches after winning the HOIC title with a 13-1 conference record.

Three Roland-Story players have been named to the first team. Alex Berends, Thomas Matthes and Dillon Lettow were the three Norsemen chosen.

Berends went 6-2 with an outstanding 0.77 ERA, 90 strikeouts and 13 walks in 63 2/3 innings of work on the mound for Roland-Story during his senior season. He also hit .311 with three doubles, a home run and 16 RBIs.

Matthes posted a 7-2 pitching record with a 1.29 ERA, 69 strikeouts and 15 walks in 48 2/3 innings during his senior campaign. On offense, he hit .400 with 13 doubles, a triple, three home runs and 28 RBIs.

Lettow recorded a .343 batting average with three doubles, two triples, 19 runs and 14 RBIs during his junior season. In the outfield, Lettow went clean on 25 occasions and had two assists.

Other HOIC first team selections were Owen Siegert, Kinnick Christensen and Clay Cuva of West Marshall, Brayden Roberts and Bryce Stalder of Greene County, Jayden Cordova and Mason Hicks of Saydel, Gavin Melohn of Nevada, Gavin Fenton of Prairie City -Monroe and Tanner of South Hamilton. Blue.

Senior receiver Matthew Phelan and senior outfielder Carter Loof landed on Roland-Story’s second all-HOIC team.

Phelan hit .347 with six doubles, a triple, 33 runs, 20 steals and 14 RBIs. Behind the plate, Phelan made just three errors on 218 occasions and threw out five base runners.

Carter Loof hit .254 with 25 points and 24 steals during his senior season for Roland-Story to earn second-team all-HOIC recognition.

Loof recorded a .254 batting average with three doubles, a triple, 25 runs and 24 steals. In the outfield, he made just one error out of 32 chances.

The rest of the all-HOIC team consisted of Cael Franzen, Karter Beving and William Carsrud from Nevada, Carter Iben from Perry, Judd Roberts and Jace Embry from Saydel, Parker Reese and Tony McKinney from West Marshall and Justin Stream and Joe Greene County Carey.

Junior Cooper Loof and senior Tyler Isebrands were the two Norsemen named honorable mention.

Cooper Loof hit .267 with four doubles, 15 runs, 10 RBIs and nine steals. In the infield, he had 31 assists, 27 strikeouts and just five errors.

Isebrands went error-free on 12 defensive chances. He also scored four runs and stole three bases and was a terrific leader.

RRC Final Ranking

Roland-History 13-1

Marshal West 12-2

Saidel 8-6

PCM 8-6

Nevada 6-8

Greene County 5-8

Hamilton South 2-12

Perry 1-13

Comments are closed.