AEW Reveals Details of Black History Month Music Project

We’d heard a bit about AEW’s next musical project, and we’ll admit at first that we were a little worried it would be a revamp of the WWF-era ones. The Wrestling Album from the 80s. Fortunately, it won’t depend on roster members to fill an entire album’s worth of tracks (although now we’re a little disappointed it won’t include anything like “Grab Them Cakes” by Junkyard Dog).

Even better, it sounds like a really cool idea.

AEW provided details on Who We Are: A Celebration of Excellence, Vol. 1 as they start taking pre-orders today (February 1):

AEW announces “Who We Are: A Celebration of Excellence, Vol. 1″

– AEW’s Complete Compilation Project Will Tell The Life Stories Of Its Black Wrestlers Through The Voices Of Renowned Artists –

To commemorate the start of Black History Month, AEW has revealed the upcoming release of Who We Are: A Celebration of Excellence, Vol. 1, a compilation album that will bring the stories of over twenty Black AEW wrestlers to life through the music of established hip-hop and R&B artists. Executive produced by AEW in-house producer Mikey Rukus, the promotion’s first-ever full-length compilation LP will feature an introduction by legendary funk musician Bootsy Collins, with proceeds from CD sales benefiting the Bootsy Collins Foundation.

Who We Are: A Celebration of Excellence, Vol. 1 will be released on Friday February 18, initially available exclusively in print format with pre-orders now open on Featuring 21 tracks, the album includes contributions from artists such as Jon Connor, Mega Ran, Brinson, Omega Sparx, Monteasy, Josiah Williams, Max Caster and AEW’s Sonny Kiss, and many more. In developing this project, Rukus used his previous experience working hand-in-hand with the AEW roster to curate their entry music, pairing wrestlers with producers and artists to tell their stories in a collaborative format. unique.

“A key aspect of my role in AEW is to deliver a multi-faceted audio experience for fans that delves into the essence of the characters they see on screen each week, as well as the stories behind the individuals who bring them to life. to these characters,” said AEW Music Producer Mikey Rukus. “Who We Are is like a bunch of ’30 for 30′ episodes for black wrestlers in AEW. The release of this project during Black History Month in a culturally authentic and familiar-sounding format, while allowing these incredible talents to share their personal journeys, is special for everyone involved.

Who We Are: A Celebration of Excellence, Vol. 1 will be released on streaming platforms in the near future, and its initial print-exclusive launch will directly benefit the Bootsy Collins Foundation, which Rukus and the AEW Community Outreach Team identified as a viable partner during the development of the ‘album. The Bootsy Collins Foundation strives to inspire, educate and enrich the lives of individuals from all walks of life through music.

“Bootsy helped define what it meant to be a black artist in America early on,” said Patti Collins, wife of Bootsy and president of the Bootsy Collins Foundation. “Bootsy’s involvement in this project is a perfect convergence of past, present and future, and we are grateful to have the chance to continue to inspire future musicians as beneficiaries of the album.”

The tracklist of Who We Are: A Celebration of Excellence, Vol. 1 understand :

1. Introduction f. collins ankle boot
2. Into the mix (Red Velvet Story) f. Will Washington, Wrestle and Flow, Cutright, E.Quipped
3. Taiga Style (story by Lee Moriarty) f. True God, Shokus Apollo
4. Shine (Story of Nyla Rose) f. Richa Latta, Monteasy, Jon Connor, Bliz
5. Whatcha Lookin’ At (Sonny Kiss Story) f. Sonny KissBrinson
6. Victory (Jay Lethal Story) f. Alexv, Omega Sparx, Swats, Kit Walters
7. Knockout (Jade Cargill Story) f. Rich Latta, Monteasy, Anthiny King, Just Reg
8. No socks (Ricky Starks story) f. Applejaxx, Brinson, E.Quipped
9. I am the Captain (Shawn Dean Story) f. Cutright, E.Quipped, Isaac Mather
10. Mixed messages (Max Caster story) f. Max Launcher
11. BGM (Brandi Rhodes story) f. Mega Ran, Touré Masters, Frivolous Shara, Lost Perception
12. The Bootsy Collins Foundation f. Patti Collins
13. Beneath Me (Story by Anthony Bowens) f. Zane Oliver, Quinn O’Donnell
14. Fish N’ Chips (Story by Anthony Ogogo) f. Mega Ran, Tru God, Bliz, Tizzy
15. Ready to Go (Private Party Story) f. Staylo Dom
16. Legend (story by Mark Henry) f. Rich Latta, Monteasy, Wrestle and Flow
17. Who is the coldest (Top Flight Story) f. Brisson
18. Power station (story by Will Hobbs) f. Will Washington, Just Reg, Gram
19. Dats over the period (story by Kiera Hogan) f. Tamira Slade, Tizzy, Bliz
20. Fully Loaded (story by Lee Johnson) f. R8ed R
21. In the Clouds (Scorpio Sky Story) f. Omega Sparx, Swats, Teek Hall, Doe the Paperboy, Mega Ran, K-Drama

The idea is cool. Will the execution take place? Pre-order here for $16.99 and find out in a few weeks!

Comments are closed.